At the end of the day, trust thyself…

 

DSC03318

I wrote following poem a while ago during one of my darkest hours as an exchange student abroad in Barcelona. At writing, I truly felt alone, even alienated from my fellow Americans in my study abroad program. For those of you contemplating studying abroad, please know that at some point, you will feel like you’re hitting a wall-hopefully, you won’t hit it as hard as I did. Don’t let this hard, unavoidable fact deter you in any way from pursuing a program abroad-just let it be a reminder that keeps you grounded in reality, because the reality is that studying abroad WILL NOT be fun and games 100% of the time!

Rule number three

never trust nobody

that’s the motto

and in this unfamiliar place

the only person we can trust

is

solely

I

and

me;

the world is filled with interesting fellows

characters

evil

good

but all humans

got a little sinner in them-

the evolutionary legacy

left behind

to haunt mankind.

so who do you trust, you ask?

me

myself

and

I.

Leave a Reply

